Siblings

Image

I recently watched the movie “30 for 30: The Guru of Go” and in the movie a basketball player by the name of Hank Gathers passes away from heart failure. His brother Derrick Gathers was interviewed in the movie and it was really heartbreaking to see his face when he started to talk about Hank’s death. He started to cry and it made me think of me and my own sister. I have one little sister and even though she frustrates me and we argue all the time, I know that if she passed away, I would be devastated. Growing up with a person and having them be there through all your ups and downs and family problems creates a bond and you love that person unconditionally.

“You don’t love someone because they’re perfect, you love them in spite of the fact that they’re not.” 

“If you have a sister and she dies, do you stop saying you have one? Or are you always a sister, even when the other half of the equation is gone?”

-My Sister’s Keeper

In my opinion, to lose a sibling, would be like losing a piece of yourself and your childhood. You still have all these memories of them and with them but you can’t share them with your brother or sister. No matter what, dead or alive, separated or together, hateful or loving, your sister/brother will ALWAYS be your sister/brother. Combining the Gathers brothers and me and my own sister, reminds me of the movie “My Sister’s Keeper”. There’s a loss of a sibling in both movies but I can relate to “My Sister’s Keeper” more in that they are two sisters and one dies. I couldn’t imagine my life without my little sister because I really do love her even if I don’t express it to her. For anyone who has lost a sister(s) or brother(s), I hope they always keep their loved one(s) in their heart because their sibling will always be a part of them and the memories they shared together. Also, I hope they keep this quote in mind, because it’s one thing to hate the world for the death of a loved one but at least they have the memory of that person in their heart and got the chance to have that person in their life.

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

tumblr_mavfr5pGJX1rql4ieo1_500

Leave a Reply

