All Quiet On The Western Front Quotes

“It’s queer, when one thinks about it,” goes on Kropp, “we are here to protect our fatherland. And the French are over there to protect their fatherland. Now who’s in theright?” (9.35)

I’ve always thought about this. Even in a more relateable situation, for example when you’re competing against someone and you and that other person both want to win, is it fair that one person has to lose. If you’re both religious and both of you are asking God “Please let me win, please help me do the best I can.” How is it fair for God to choose one and not the other. I agree with this quote. I mean it’s not true in all situations but when something like this is happenning, WHO IS in the right? How can you be so sure who is right and who is wrong.

 “We have lost all sense of other considerations, because they are artificial. Only the facts are real and important to us. And good boots are hard to come by.” Chapter 2, pg. 21

These soldiers have seen so many gruesome things and have lost many beloved friends that they’ve grown a callous on their heart. They kind of have to become not exactly “cold-hearted” but pretty much. When you’re in these rough circumstances, dealing with loss and these extremes, I can see why these men needed to focus on facts and logic instead of consideration and sentimental attachment. It sounds so cruel and harsh but it’s something they had to do.

“The belly of one is ripped open, the guts trail out. He becomes tangled in them and falls, then he stands up again.”  Chapter 4, pg 63

This is maybe one of the top 3 most visual and tragic scenes I’ve read so far in this book. I’m not sure why but sometimes it’s sadder to see an animal such as a horse in pain and suffering than a human. I think it’s possibly because you think of harmless animals such as horses and rabbits as innocent. They haven’t hurt others or sinned like a human has so I feel that people have more symptahy for them. Having read this made me double take at it and actually play out the scene in my head. To have actually seen that would have made me cry and I do not cry often.

Leave a Reply

